The Best Damn Carrot Cake Ever

10489877_10152525773602978_6500569205505347246_n

I don’t brag about many things that I make – ask anyone who knows me.  I can probably count on one hand the things that I might rattle off should you ask me what things I excel at in the kitchen. However, if you ask anyone I have cooked for, their list might be much longer.  Why? I’d consider myself to be pretty modest. I cook because I love to and I love cooking for people I care about and people who appreciate it.

As my father used to say – if you don’t eat, you aren’t invited back. Translation: don’t be shy helping yourself to seconds in the Frank Household. Or even asking for a to-go box.

This cake was a fluke really. I needed a carrot cake with no nuts and dairy-free to take to my best friend’s house for a gathering she was having (nut-free for me, dairy-free for her). A star was born and I get this requested all the time.

Chef’s Note: It came be made as a layer cake with the cream cheese frosting and it just puts this over the top. Bake cake in 2, 9-inch pans for 45 minutes. Cool in pans for 10 minutes. Invert and ice with Orange Cream Cheese Icing.

Carrot Bundt Cake
Yields 16 servings

Ingredients:
3 Cups flour, all-purpose sifted
2 1/2 Cups sugar, white
1 Tbls baking soda
1 Tbls cinnamon, ground
1 tsp salt
4 Each egg, whole
1 1/2 Cup oil, vegetable
1 tsp extract, vanilla
2 Cups carrots shredded
1 Cup applesauce, unsweetened

Optional Ingredients:
8 Ounce(wt)s walnuts, English chopped

Glaze Ingredients:
1 1/4 Cup sugar, powdered
5 Tbls juice, orange

Tools Needed:
Nordic Ware Pro Form Anniversay Cake Pan, 12 Cup
ExcelSteel 298 5-Quart Stainless Steel Non Skid Base Mixing Bowl

Directions:
Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease and flour 10-inch bundt pan. In large bowl, with spoon, mix flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. In small bowl, with a fork, beat eggs slightly; stir in oil and vanilla. Using your hands, stir egg mixture, carrots, walnuts, and applesauce into flour until flour is just moistened. Spoon batter into pan, spreading evenly.

Bake for 1 hour and 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean. Cool cake in pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes. With spatula, loosen cake from edge of pan; invert onto wire rack to cool completely.

Prepare powdered sugar glaze:
In a small bowl with a spoon, mix powdered sugar and orange juice until smooth and an easy spreading consistency. Place cake on serving platter. Drizzle icing over cake.

Orange Cream Cheese Icing: (for making a 2-layer cake)
12 Ounce(wt)s softened cheese, cream regular
1/2 Cup softened butter
1 Tbls juice, orange
1 tsp extract, vanilla
1/2 tsp extract, orange
5 1/2 Cups sugar, powdered

Directions:
In a large bowl, mix everything except sugar until smooth.

Gradually beat in powdered sugar until smooth.

Leave a Reply

