Christmas Crack

I know… you’re asking, what?! This is aptly named because you just cannot get enough of it.

This candy first came into my life at least a dozen years ago, by way of my brother’s college roommate’s wife. Follow that one. But alas, she kept making it and sending it covered in chopped pecans despite my deathly allergy. So I would watch as the rest of my family would devour it all in front of me. After much torture, I set out to find a recipe to make it myself, and make it Lindy-friendly.

I found a few recipes, and tried them all. This one is the best AND the easiest. Apparently, the original was supposed to have toasted slivered almonds. So put whatever nuts you prefer – me, I’m sticking with the honey roasted peanuts. Also, I changed the chocolate because… bittersweet is always better!

15196090_10154666146032978_4301054368482586184_o

Yields 1 pound

Ingredients:
1 Cup butter, unsalted
1 1/8 Cup sugar, light brown, packed
12 Ounce(wt)s chocolate chips, semisweet
40 Each crackers, saltines * this depends on the configuration of your cookie sheet

Optional Ingredients:
1/2 Cup peanuts, honey-roasted chopped (or whatever nuts make you happy)

Tools Needed:
Farberware Nonstick Bakeware 10-Inch x 15-Inch Cookie Pan, Gray
Circulon Hard Anodized Nonstick 2-Quart Covered Saucepan

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 15×10-inch jelly roll pan or a 12×17-inch cookie sheet with foil and spray with non-stick spray. Lay a flat layer of crackers out on the foil. Melt the sugar and butter until a boil is reached. Boil for 3 minutes.

Pour this mixture over the crackers and spread to coat evenly. Bake for 5 to 7 minutes, or until the toffee becomes bubbly. After removing the pan from the oven, sprinkle evenly with chocolate and cover with foil. Let sit for 5 minutes. Remove foil and spread the chocolate into an even layer. (You can add nuts, cracker crumbs, or whatever else floats your boat at this point – I use chopped honey roasted peanuts.)

Cover with foil and place in the freezer for 20 to 40 minutes until set.

Break into pieces the size of your choice. I personally prefer a hand-sized chunk.

Leave a Reply

