Slow Cooker Balsamic Pot Roast

Cold weather means comfort food. Threats of snow storms and being shut in, means large meals that will last for days. I’m going to break out my slow cooker every time. Soups, stews, roasts.

Now, in Georgia, these threats are usually just blown out of proportion and I laugh them off. But I’ll still go to the store days ahead and buy the supplies for just such a meal. I mean, why not, right? Now, I’m a fan of my mother’s pot roast and I need no excuse to make it. But I’m always on the hunt for a new one to try. This one intrigued me for many reasons, but I was sold at the thought of balsamic vinegar and red wine.

I mostly followed the recipe – but I cheated and used baby carrots and baby gold potatoes. I work from home and am pretty busy this month. So I didn’t have the time on a Friday morning to do all the prep work on the carrots and potatoes to peel and prep. Short cuts should never make you feel ashamed, especially for a slow cooker recipe. Also, the grocery never has a 1.5 pound chuck roast. So all I did was increase the amounts of veggies to match the size of the roast… and of course doubled the garlic because I’m me.

This turned out great and will probably be stew by Sunday. Also, because I’m me.

pot-roast

Yields 6 servings
Adapted from Delish

Ingredients:
3 Tbls oil, extra virgin olive
2 1/2 Pounds beef, chuck roast trimmed
1 Tbls salt, Kosher
1 Tbls pepper, black, coarsely ground
10 Cloves garlic, fresh minced
1 Large onion, white cut into 1-inch dice
1/4 Cup vinegar, balsamic
3 Tbls sugar, light brown, packed
1 Pound carrots, baby
24 Small potatoes, Yukon gold creamer
5 Sprigs thyme, fresh
1 Each bay leaves
2 Cups stock, chicken, low-sodium
1 Cup wine, dry red
2 Tbls cornstarch
1/2 Cup water
2 Tbls parsley, flat-leaf chopped

Tools Needed:
KitchenAid 6-Qt. Slow Cooker with Standard Lid
Kuhn Rikon Epicurean Garlic Press
OXO Good Grips 11-Inch Balloon Whisk

Directions:

Mix together your salt and pepper in a small bowl – this will prevent any cross-contamination in your normal salt and pepper containers.
saltandpepper

Dry meat with paper towels and season generously with salt and pepper all over.
season-beef

Don’t forget to season the sides as well.
season-beefsides

In a large sauté pan over high heat warm 1 tbsp olive oil. Sear on all sides until a deep golden crust forms, about 2 to 3 minutes per side.
sear-beef1

Also, make sure you sear the sides because brown food tastes good!
sear-beef2

Transfer meat to the slow cooker bowl.

Return pan to medium heat and add 1 tsp olive oil. Sauté garlic and onions for 2 minutes.
sauteonions

Deglaze with balsamic vinegar. Simmer on low until slightly reduced, about 5 minutes. Scrape bottom with a wooden spoon to remove all bits of meat. Add brown sugar and stir until dissolved.
deglazejpg

Pour mixture over meat in slow cooker. Add carrots, potatoes, thyme, bay leaf, chicken stock and red wine. Cook on low for 6 to 8 hours.
allinslowcooker

Remove bay leaf and thyme branches. Plate the beef and veggies on a plater.
finished.JPG

Pour sauce into a small saucepan.
cooksauce

Make a slurry with the cornstarch and water, Bring sauce to a boil and slowly whisk and pour in the slurry and cook about 2 minutes on boiling until thickened.

thickensauce.JPG

Serve gravy on the side. Garnish with parsley, if desired, and serve immediately.

One thought on “Slow Cooker Balsamic Pot Roast

Leave a Reply

