Turkey Taco Bowls

Challenge proposed:

Cook every meal for 30 days: Breakfast!, lunch and dinner. Do not eat out, do not cheat and buy breakfast pastries, Lean Cuisines, etc. Cook. Every. Meal. #cook90challenge

Ummmmm, ok. Sure. This seems easy enough. Until I look at my work schedule and realize that I tend to work 10+ hours a day. Sure, I work from home and my office is nicely ensconced in my 2nd bedroom (which doesn’t have a bed in it) and is right upstairs from my kitchen. Easy pisy, right? Nope.

So I’ll do this modified. Twice a week, I’ll cook. I’ll meal plan, prep and cook 4 meals worth of breakfast (hello, when do I actually make time to eat breakfast… my cold brew coffee does NOT count), lunch AND dinner. I will make healthy versions of these things and I will not order take out when it turns out I have been head down configuring, data migrating or in BPRS for 6 hours straight (sorry Jimmy John’s, Door Dash, etc.). No eating out. Sorry Starbucks. No eating out. (Sorry to my bartenders, too). Sorry Yelp. Well, at least I can catch up on my backlog of reviews?

So here was my first lunch attempt. Even I was skeptical. I figured I would get bored of the same thing every day. No way – not with this one. Now, I did modify it from the original. A) Made is spicier and B) No where could I find only 1 pound of ground turkey. So I went a little crazy and ended up with 5 servings. More for me! This gets better every day as the flavors get more intense. And, this is a keeper!

img_6573

Yields 4 servings
From somewhere out there on the interweb

Ingredients:
1 Cup rice, brown
1 1/3  Pound turkey, white ground
3 Tbls seasoning, taco
1 Pint tomatoes, cherry quartered
1 Each pepper, jalapeño minced
1/4 onion, red minced
1/2 Each lime juiced
1/4 tsp salt, Kosher
12 Ounce(wt)s corn, canned drained and rinsed
1/2 Cup cheese, Mexican, grated
1 to taste taco sauce
1 Cup corn chips, yellow (optional)
Plastic containers with lids

Directions:
Cook brown rice according to package directions, adding the lime zest (of you can juice the other half of the lime) and salt to the cooking water.

Cook turkey over medium heat, tossing in the taco seasoning and breaking it up as you cook. Cook for 10 or so minutes, until cooked through.

img_1493

Add about 1/4 water and let it cook off. This helps cook in the flavor of the seasoning.
img_4159

Combine tomatoes, jalapeno, onion, juice from the lime and salt and toss together. Set aside – this is your salsa.
img_5811

To assemble lunch bowls:
-1/4 portion of cooked rice
-1/2 cup corn kernels
-1/2 cup cooked taco meat
-1/4 portion of salsa
-1/4 portion of cheese
Top with a drizzle of taco sauce (I use Taco Bell available in a bottle at the grocery)

Store in the fridge until ready to heat and eat – about 1 to 2 minutes in a microwave. Top with a little sour cream (if desired) and extra taco sauce. Serve with chips on the side.
img_4074

Leave a Reply

