Brown Butter and Spinach Shrimp Pasta

I love shrimp, actually adore it. But I cannot cook it or handle it raw myself. So whenever I am really craving it, I go out to eat. Alas, that is not an option this month because of this Cook 90 Challenge. So I called my Mom and asked if she didn’t mind helping me by assisting on this dinner prep.

I went to the store and bought all the stuff (this Delish video had been taunting me). I went to her house and I did all (well almost all) the prep work and she handled the cleaning and seasoning of the shrimp. I did as many of the steps I could, and, from a distance, took photos of her doing the rest.

This was actually a quick and easy dish (except for the peeling and deveining of the shrimp). This would be a super simply weeknight meal. Some of you may look at the photo and think the shrimp is overcooked – alas, required for me. You can cook the shrimp according to the recipe directions and it will be perfect.

IMG_9773Yields 4 to 5 servings
From Delish

Ingredients:
4 Tbls butter
1 Pound shrimp, 26-30 (large) peeled and deveined
1 to taste salt, Kosher
1 to taste pepper, black, ground
4 Cloves garlic, fresh minced
1 Large lemon juiced and zested
2 Cups spinach, baby
2 Tbls parsley, flat-leaf chopped
3/4 Pounds pasta, angel hair cooked

Tools Needed:
Le Creuset Signature Enameled Cast-Iron 5-Quart Round Braiser
Kuhn Rikon Epicurean Garlic Press
J.A. HENCKELS INTERNATIONAL Fine Edge Pro 2-pc Asian Knife Set
Microplane 40020 Classic Zester/Grater

Directions:
In a bowl, season shrimp with salt and pepper; set aside.

In a large sauté pan add butter and heat over medium-low heat. Warm until color begins to brown, about 3 to 4 minutes. It will start to smell nutty and begin foam.
IMG_6166

Turn heat up to medium-high. Add shrimp.
IMG_2896

Cook until pink, 2 minutes per side.
IMG_2100

Scrape the browned bits off of the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon. Stir in garlic and stir for 30 seconds.
IMG_1090

Add baby spinach, and toss until spinach begins to wilt.

Add the pasta, lemon juice and lemon zest and toss with tongs until everything is evenly combined.

IMG_9538

Check for seasonings and add more salt and pepper, if needed.

Serve immediately.

Leave a comment